POETIC CANADA

vol01

I’ve just been published in Canadian Poetry no. 64, a poetry review put out by the English Department of my alma mater, The University of Western Ontario. (HBA in History, 1982.) It’s a special issue on Anglo-Quebec Poetry, guest edited by Jason Camlot, and featuring scholarly studies on Rob Allen, David McGimpsey, Erin Mouré and Carmine Starnino, among others.

My piece is in a class of its own, “Documents.” ‘in search of the poetic in everyday life’ began as a rumination on the day when Canadian poetry was transformed from a distant, fusty concept to a vibrant, living presence in my life. I suppose it’s also about my own birth as a poet. Jason Camlot heard me read the piece at Erica Ruth Kelly’s chapbook launch at Cagibi last year, and asked me if I’d contribute it to Canadian Poetry.

An earlier version of ‘in search of the poetic in everyday life’ appeared in my November 2008 prose chapbook Drift.

Leave a Reply

